Dementia Pathways. For Health & Social Care Professionals

Regional Specialist Memory Clinic (RSMC)

Alongside funding for Memory Assessment and Support Services, the HSE National Service Plan 2021 and 2022 is enabling the development of four Regional Specialist Memory Clinics (RSMC) and a National Intellectual Disability Memory Service. 

The RSMC model is outlined in the Draft Dementia Model of Care and is a Level Three assessment and diagnostic servce. These Regional Specialist Memory Clinics (RSMC) are a new and innovative development. Funding was received for the development of the RSMC sites under the National Service Plan 2021 and 2022. The RSMC sites are currently in development and as of yet not operational.

Assessment at level 3 is generally for complex, atypical, unclear cases, suspected Young onset Dementia, or where the person wishes to participate in a more detailed and specific aetiological evaluation. Level 3 Assessment Is based in a regional Specialist memory Clinic and carried out by experts in the field of Dementia.

Staffing in the RSMC is comprised of the following:

  1. Consultant
  2. Senior Registrar
  3. ANP/CNS
  4. Senior Neuro Psychologist
  5. Senior Occupational Therapist
  6. Senior Social Worker
  7. Senior Dietician
  8. Senior Speech and Language Therapist
  9. Neuro Radiologist
  10. Clerical support   


Location of Regional Specialist Memory Clinics